My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

One down….infinite to go…

3 Comments

First project is finished. Yeah!

It took some time as I kept starting a new project every time I got a new idea. So at the moment I’ve got I don’t know how many sewing projects lying around – at least 30 I think…probably more than that..

BUT – for this one – as it goes I’m pretty happy with it. Not completely satisfied though but then again – is there actually a time when a perfectionist is perfectly happy about something they’ve made…not in my tiny corner of the world.

Chequed Roses In Blue

 

So I guess I’ll settle for pretty ok with the thing. I really need a dressform very soon. Sorry about the poor quality – the lighting really doesn’t do anything good for the dress or the fabric which is rather sweet – oilclothy or not.

To make up for the lack for perfection it is quite cute. I so liked the print until someone said it looked like oilcloth for a summer table, which meant I had to put it away until that image got out of my head again. I do see what she meant, but still…anyways cutting out and putting together in a more attractive siluette than the porch table took care of that image.

Uh, close-up of my imperfections….trying times…

It is also very girly – only time can tell if i can stomach all the girlyness. ‘Cause even though I love dresses – and more or less never wears anything but dresses I usually tend to choose more neutral – more classic fabrics. But for the past year or so something adventourous have sort of gotten hold of me. Don’t think my closet has ever been this colourful…I’ve even got white in there. Scary stuff – now I just need to learn how to wear white

I based the dress on McCalls pattern no. 5292. A cute, simle dress – great summer-dress – depending on coice of fabric it could be both for going out and everyday se. And it really was easy stitch’n’save as promised – all of it very straight forward – with a good fit. For once I hardly had to make any alterations at all.

To even out some of the girlyness I desided not to put the bow on…It might seem like a small thing – but bows go a looong way…

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

3 thoughts on “One down….infinite to go…

  1. i love the first dress pictured! The kind of thing I hope to be able to make one day myself 😀

    • Thanks. Actually this dress is very easy – it is a part of an easy stitch collection. Good instructions, so if you can follow those, it is only to jump in – and of course choose some easy fabric to work with – like cotton (print or plain).

  2. Pingback: Dress-up for another year turned | My Strings

Leave a Reply

