My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

On a roll…or something

9 Comments

Two new projects on the go.

This losing weight business is really hard in more ways than just losing the weight. That has almost been the easiest part – wierd thing to say – don’t get me wrong losing the d…… kilos was not all fun and glory.

But clothes-wise I thought I had it all planned. I had kept a lot of clothes from my way up in weight – so I planned to wear these on the way down as well. Good plan – only I hadn’t taken my own little devious mind into account in the brilliant plan. It is still playng trix on me – as I know it always will – so I should have known better and kept my mind under control.

‘Cause what it ended up with was that when I finally talked myself into having a go at the scales – I had lost 15 kg in abouth 5 months. Nothing criminal at all – except all the clothes I had looked forward to wearing on my way down…well…most of it was too big (luckyly for a good friend and the nearby second hand shop).

This also meant that all of my coats and jackets were too big – so I set out made a new jacket. Loved it – and just the other day I found out I’d actually worn it to pieces. Day of mourning – oh my…and then vanity struck – and even though the huge hole is under one arm and can’t been seen – the vain little me just can’t show myself it it…

So tadaaa…need to make a new one and I ended up not being able to settle on just one pattern – ended up with two: Made som alternations so they fit better what I had in mind and then I went rumaging through my chest of fabric goodies…and found some hand-wowen black wool – very nice. Perhaps not as spring- or summer friendly as it could have been…but…there are room for more than one, two…three…jackets.

Jackets are great accessories – so now I’ve cut two.

 

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

9 thoughts on “On a roll…or something

  1. I totally a multi-project maker too! I currently have three dresses on the go! 🙂

    • So good to know I’m not alone – unless it is a really tricky project I can get a bit bored/tired of a project – so I alway have more than one lying around

  2. Looking forward to seeing those

  3. Loving both those styles. Good bit of inspiration, thank you. I have a half finished jacket that really needs to be finished and the fact that you have two ready and cut out highlights what a lightweight I am being! I sure could do with a jacket or two too!

    • Glad you found some inspiration. But I can be bad too – I have too many unfinished projectes lying around – I really should finish them also – not just start new ones…Post pic when you finish yours…I’m almost done with one…

  4. I’m looking forward to seeing the finished jackets…
    Beth

  5. Pingback: Job well done | My Strings

  6. Pingback: And then there was skirt…and Summer… | My Strings

Leave a Reply

