My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Uh…Mama is in love…

2 Comments

My kitchen-world just got so much bigger…I bought Christine Ingrams’ book ‘World Encyclopedia of Cooking Ingredients.

Billede

I saw it at a friends place a little while ago – and thought it would be a nice addition to my cookbook collection. So I went on a search for it. Amazon didn’t have it themselves and the sellers they refered to where rather expensive…so google google google and voila – there it was just £5.11 – and my resistance was dissolved.

And then yesterday it came. Picked it up on my way to the laudromat – and spent a hour just browsing my new heavenly book. Oddly to get so worked up over an encyclopedia – but this one is above…and I not just talking about the lovely smell of a new book…

No, really. Christine Ingram works her way through all kinds of vegetables, fruits, spices, meat, poultry, herbs and and and giving a short description and sugestions for use, storage and buying – not to mention opening up to finding alternatives – by describing taste, so good when venturing into new territory.

And for many of the things and informations – well, yes I already know – but then there are the more special products. And since I love to cook – and very seldom cook Danish – this is a goldmine. It get a bit redundant when the persons at the supermarket and like places stare at me like I’m weird because I ask for asafoetida or even just fenugreek.

Is is mainly spices and vegetables which is the problem. Slowly I’m working my way through my city combing to find who has my spices. Not too fond of buying them over the internet – can’t check the date on them that way. Special vegetables are a bit harder to come by here. But slowly Denmark is opening up to the more exotic variaties – which is great. But for now it is a substitute-adventure to cook e.g. Indian, Vietnamese or Thai

Really make me want…wish for more of her books…

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

2 thoughts on “Uh…Mama is in love…

  1. Looks like a good book. I have your problem with difficulty finding spices and other ingredients. I live in Northern Canada… it’s pretty much order online or stock up twice a year on trips down south 😦

    • Seems like you really are a bit harder up than I am. Denmark is not that closed off – just a bit behind…but at least you’ll have fab nature on your way down ;.)

Leave a Reply

