My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Job well done

4 Comments

Finally, I feel like saying.

But really from the time of finding fabric, to looking for the right pattern, to planning and cutting – and the finally sewing the jacket not much time have passed. It’s just I love the planning,fitting odds an end together in a new project, figuring out how to show ‘me’ in what I make. Adding my own little quirkyness into any and everything I make is essential to me – of course when I make things for other people I respect their need and wishes – but I also fnd a way to add myself. Even just by marking it with my label…or having fun with the interior of the garment…

I finished the first jacket yesterday morning  and also used it yesterday. It is perfect. And it feels so good not just to wear something new – though that is a good feel as well. But more the feeling of a job very well done – and well executed. And now actually having a jacket that fits me – and fits very well.

I decided to start with the pattern on the left (https://mystrings.wordpress.com/2012/05/13/on-a-roll-or-something/) – an old McCalls’s pattern I’ve had lying around for ages – just never really go around to making anything from it.

Billede

I wans’t really into the 3/4 sleeves so i drafted a new sleeve. Nothing much to it – just a longer plain sleeve as I want a plain kind of ‘can-be-worn-with-everyting-type’ jacket. Of course I didn’t leave it all alone – wouldn’t be me if I did – so I went for a crazier lining fabric – in a pretty burnt sienna colour with a sort of wavy tye-dye in a paler yellow.

Billede

Unfortunately, the picture doesn’t really do the pattern of the colour of the fabric any justice.

And on the outside I chose to add by hand some handmade lace I found two years ago on a mideval market to the empire band on the jacket. Just to add a touch of structure and difference to the jacket. The ends of the band i tucked and sew into one of the front darts. I like it that way – the band seems more integrated like that.

Billede

Last alteration was taking a bit of the shoulders. I’m not that tall but because of various sports I have quite wide shoulders for my size and height – but somehow jackets patterns are alway made with 1980s wide shoulders. It wasn’t pretty then – whatever makes them think it is pretty and wanted now. I just don’t sport any interest in appearing to have manly shoulders.

Other than those minor alterations – nothing much to i – and removing som cathair from the wool – remains from when I had a cat. She loooved pure wool. She would go all woozy whenever I worked with wool (which was and is most of the time). There was no stopping her – purring, rolling, stretching all over. Finally I had to hide my wool fabrics when I wasn’t working with them and close her out with two doors when I was – and two door because she definitely wasn’t a fan of doors – so she would start to scream and scould at the door – not pleasant to listen to….I miss her..

Well, next jacket is in the machine – and I also FINALLY got around to making a pattern for a cape – which I have wanted to make for such a long time. Capes are another great accessory – and great for Spring and Fall in Denmark. You just can’t trust that weather…

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

4 thoughts on “Job well done

  1. Wow, such a nice jacket! Job well done and I really like the lace. Nice touch!
    Beth

    • Thanks. I am really happy with it – and myself for that matter. And I kept my vow – all I had to buy for this project was the buttons.
      Jane

  2. Absolutely gorgeous!!! I’m in awe.

    • Wow, thanks. Uh, going all red here – I’m so not good at taking compliments. It is really nerve-wracking to share my projects and musing like this – so it is comforting to feel the support from comments like this. Thanks again.
      Jane

Leave a Reply

