My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Omelette Meets Lasagna

2 Comments

My days alone combined with warm weather – not a good combo when it comes to food. I love to cook – just not for me alone. That seems just pointless – thought I know it isn’t. And now with a marathon hanging over my head I really need to learn how to feed myself well even the days I eat alone.

Also – wow – so much to learn about how to put together the best diet to further my training and my overall well being so I can do my best at all times. For now though I taking it slow – one thing at the time – beginning with getting a running rutine in, building my strength, distance and stamina. This year I need at least 2 offical half marathons – hoping on 3. And at least 1 before the actual marathon i april – just to see how I run with a track and timeframe on long distance. I’ve run 2 half marathons already – though not as an offical competition.

Being a semi -vegetarian – meaning I still eat bird, fish, eggs and dairy. It’s not because I’m against eating meat – it’s just that pork makes me really sick and beef never really tasted that great in the first place – so why not leave it to the carnivors to enjoy…well…back to the point…being semi-veg means there is sometimes weeks between I actually have meat at all. And in this current heat – I just don’t feel like eating meat at all. Just too heavy – no matter what form it comes in. And cooking…well when it is just for me I can be a bit lazy at times – which on the other hand has ended up in several easy to fix kind of recipies.

Tonights dinner is a sort of veggie lasagna meets omelette. My initial idea was to make an omelette but in the oven instead of in a pan on the stove. And I love to mix it up with al kinds of things (just like I love mixing in a lasagna)…so I applyed this here as well – and building it it just started to remind me of a lasagna with all the layers minus all the cheasy parts – I wanted it to be lighter because of the warmth.

The basics of the dish

Tomato, tomatopuree, caroots, green peppers ( the non too spicy kind), garlic, eggs, salt, pepper, dill, lemonpepper, chiliflakes, muskat, sellerisalt and just a spalsh of taragon vinegar, milk and a mild smoked crem cheese- just for a hint of smokey taste – how much/little is up to taste and how many people you are cooking for.

Tomatoes, tomatopuree, carrots, green chilies, smoked cream cheese and dill – before adding the egg-mix

Layer it up finishing with the eggmix – and in the oven i goes. I gave it about 30-40 minutes in the oven – to allow the veggies to cook a little bit also so they’d still have some bite.

Fresh from the oven

Because of all the vegetables and the tomatopuree it is a bit watery (or rather tomatory…as the ‘water’ tastes and looks like tomatopuree) – but seems like most lasagas are at first – give it time to rest – or even make it one day in advance and it’ll come out perfect when reheated.

Tastes a LOT better than it looks at first glance

And as for all lasagnas all there need to be at its side is an easy summer salad – just a simple lettuce head – not iceberg but like looseleaf lettuce and a dressing my mom2 taught me.

1 dl milk

1 teaspon of sugar

Vinegar – enough – regular or with a mild taste of herbs

The mix of milk and vinegar gives a sweet, light taste – the sugar binds the dressing to the lettuce. Pour the milk into a bowl and add sugar – wisk hard to make the milk more puffy. Then you wisk in the vinegar until the milk goes off.  Stop pouring and wisk away till the mix is puffy again. Tear up the salad lightly and toss and mix it in the dressing. A perfect very light salad to give something green on the side.

Enjoy

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

2 thoughts on “Omelette Meets Lasagna

  1. I think it looks pretty good at first glance!

    • Thanks – maybe it’s just the camera and the lighting – not the best. But in the end – it tasted great – and that is more important…

Leave a Reply

