My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Remiss in a fall feeling

2 Comments

I have been remiss in taking my time to return in here. And even though I have been busy and I have been having that tired ‘winter-is-coming-soon’-feeling – I really should have taken the time to return as it gives me so much  more than I feel I am giving. Anything to forget that the weather lately is more like Fall than actual Summer.

It is like my running – it can feel unaccomplishable to wake up to a 12-13 mile run – but being out there in the nature, in my own little world, testing the day form of my legs to see what kind of run it’ll be… but always no matter what state my legs are in – the right frame of mind can and will bring me forward and coming back from a run will each and every time bring me a new revitalised energi I cannot find anywhere else…save from yoga…but still different – in it’s own way.

Well, having not been in here doesn’t mean I haven’t been keeping up with ‘Project Get a hold of Your Fabric Addiction, Missie’. I have finished a few projects – as well as having started a few more…getting ready to lauch a side project under the Addiction-umbrella – corsets. But that I’ll get back to when I’m good and ready.

Again this is a pattern I’ve had lying around for years – I bought it beacause I have a soft spot for dresses with pockets – they are ever so lovely- and I just cannot get enough of them also the fact that it  had a complete buttoned front fit exactly with the idea I had in my head.

Vogue pattern 8577

I intended this pattern for a dress that should be light and light in colours as well – front opened, possibly without sleeves as my idea was that the dress could be combined with 19th century and a little simple cotton jersy or cotton top with cap sleeves.

However, as it often happens things never always goes quite as planned. I had some very nice linen in a rich dark navy blue which seemed perfect. So very soft – not too thin or thick – but thick and heavy enough as not to wrinkle as soon as you even just look at it. Also the cut of the skirt in combination with the added support in the sides from the pockets there is a very nice flow in the skirt. Love that.

Pockets grande.

I decided to keep the dress very basic – no flash and funny business at all. The pattern included lining which I decided against as I wanted a light summerdress. I turned the front facing to the outside for some added texture.

And the the usual alterations – shorten the skirt – always always necessary as I am only 5 ft. 2.5 – so I have to be careful and not do myself the disfavour of presenting myself even shorter than I really am by the wrong length of my skirt.

In all it’s simple glory

Also when working with Vogue patterns, I have to take in at the shoulders. Apparently  Vogue women either have very wide shoulders or they are unnaturally huge fans of the 80’s shoulder-boosters. Well I am Not. So off they go. Lastly, take it in a bit at the waist as well as shorten the body by about half an inch. I’m just short all over I guess. And waist to bust difference is never quite right.

It is a great dress – very sailor like – so I do have to be a bit carefull when accessorizing it – otherwise it’ll go full blown sailor costumy in no time.

Here the dress is in the company of my little bonus niece Lily – and for the first time in weeks a spot of sun and warmth.

I’ll make the soft coloured version another time – this dress definitely deserves to be made more than once…

And now off to bed – I have a competition tomorrow – only a 6.25 mile run – but still – I need my rest. No point in doing the thing if not doing it right.

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

2 thoughts on “Remiss in a fall feeling

  1. What a lovely dress. Clearly you’ve put lots of thought into the alterations and fabric choice. It looks so professional!

    • Thank you – that is so nice of you to say. I am happy with it – and it’ll probably be one of those garments you love so much you’ll wear it till it falls apart. Love that.

Leave a Reply

