My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Bonus finds

2 Comments

Once in a while you get so lucky and just happen upon a thing that is just perfect. And often it happens when you are not looking at all – but actually hunting for something else.

This time was no different. I was helping a friend with her kitchen last Friday – which ultimately meant two trips to Ikea (her 5th trip – for just one kitchen…very annoying…but…noooone to take responsibility in Ikea…) because of wrong parts. It is a brilliant idea that you can build you own kitchen just to your liking…but gosh the work and trouble that comes with it – you start to wonder if it is worth it.

Well, the positive element of the day was a trip to an antique store I knew and had mentioned to her several times. And this day with a car at our disposal we took the chance and went there. My friend had for some time been looking for a coffee table for her living room without having any luck since she had very specific requirements for the size and hight of the table which is not at all standard for todays coffee tables.

We came, we saw and score…bam…one great table after another…end then not only one but two perfect ones. So then we had to pass som time debating which was more perfect all the while taking a trip round the rest of the place. And here I happened upon my find of the day…a handbag.

The Mustard Bag

The perfect little accessorie – I think it is possibly late 1950s but more likely to be from the 1960s from a Bon Goût ladies handbag line. Great size, multiple rooms i a sort of layered way – almost like two bags in one. And the colour is great – very special – sort of a mustartd brownish yellow. Normally I hardly ever go for any kind of yellow – has never really been my colour but lately I’m sort of warming up to it in spite of it really not being my colour. But for accessories it really is great, spicy and give something extra – not to mention it is such a happy colour – still wouldn’t paint my walls yellow though…

Roomy little thing

Next step of the mission – see if it’ll go with my favorite shoes – a pair of saffran yellow suede pumps. But I need to get them resoled before trying out any combanations…what if it looks great…I would want to take it out straight away showing it off…and that wouldn’t bee good for the shoes… 😉

And oh yes she did decide – so we also to home the coffee table and some cute nicknacks for sushi dinners…

Chop stick rests

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

2 thoughts on “Bonus finds

  1. What a beautiful bag!

Leave a Reply

