My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Sugar sugar sugar….rush

Leave a comment

Now 6 hours later I am still working on a high built entirely from a massive, amazing, overwhelming, overload of suger combined with love and lovelyness – made into dividable forms of heaven…

I could go on and on throwing positive adjectives around…explanation – I went to my first Pastry/Cake/Sunday gathering. Where Anarkistens (ægte) Kogebog shared and tested new recipies for cakes.

One of the wonders from KonditorSøndag 17. June 2012

And my poor marathon training body and mind are definitely nowhere near in good enough training for this asortment of sweetness. But I dove in, I did my best – and I left nothing. That would be bad form – and would result in mockery – or so I was told. Even though I am being punished now – I am still taking it in good spirit…and sharing my well deserved and nurtured stomach ache and sugar high.

Though boasting from another kind of sweet my last and final skirt in the “triad skirt series” really is sweet with a hint of marangue (oh my, after this afternoon beware of cake-analogies) – sort of light and puffy luckily not in white.

The one in the middle

The final skirt is of course the cream coloured cotton fabric with laden with little brown flowers. To add something different to this skirt I desided to split up an under-skirt I started making a few years ago – making two underskirts. It is made of a dark brown gauzy weaved cotton – very light and fluffy. One I added to the final skirt in making – and voila thus giving marangue…

The under skirt

Setting this skirt apart from the other two is also the higher waistband – which I this time made in a very-easy-to-split-open-kind-of-way…I have see the light of my not too dependable weight. And making new clothes – all the work and looking forward to wearing it – makes it real hard when you 2-3 weeks later find that the skirt no longer fits properly – too big…so this time I am planing ahead.

Please disregard the dirty fingered mirror – nothing like a blitz to set them off so lovely

The pattern for this skirt i also a little different slightly more circular where the others are more a-line. But not a comeplete circle as I still wanted to keep these skirts simple. But stil gives it a little bit of the 50s look I love so much – and feel so at home in.

The inner skirt is pleasted all the way round where the outer skirt only has to single pleats one on each side of the back zipper. Contrary to the brown Hawaiian flower skirt I went for a less noticable zipper – more hidden.

Miss Fluffy

Only one last thought for this skirt – as I am still considering wether it is slightly too long. Should or should I now raise the hem an inch or two?

All in all – light and fluffy – love the way it moves and flows with the air when runing down the stairs – makes me feel girly…

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

Leave a Reply

