My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

The Candyfloss Cardigan Bundle

3 Comments

It’s amazing – I love how one thing can turn into another – and then another yet again…yarn yarn yarn in all sizes, shapes and colours – such lush, wonderfull colours.
But… now having hit that troubling point again (as I always seem to do) – the temptation to just bundle the whole thing up and pack it away for a rainy day…far far away…is just so much more appealing.

The annoying place in my knitting adventure being a point you just can’t seem to avoid when knitting clothes – sewing it all together and even worse – weaving in all the ends…such a tedious task. But as with most tedious task it has to be done.

Which is weird – as I love to sew…but weawing ends and sewing up the parts just doesn’t seem to get me going. I love to knit – the process, the intricate pattern possibilities, fitting it, making it all come together – but still, argh…

Even though I am really looking forward to it being finished – I still find it hard to kick myself too the finish line. Also I’ve found a lot of incredible 1940s and 1950s knitting patterns – and have entered the mental state of ‘so much to do so little time’-mind. But I’ve decided that I can’t start another project until I finish one – one out/one in – trying to keep track of all the things I want to try and want to make.

Another system has found its way into my life. It isn’t just the fabric addiction which is taking up space and time – also everything to do with yarn – though that isn’t as bad as the fabric-trouble. The new system is a list – so every time I get an idea for any kind of craft project I write it down on a list hanging in my window – and every time I finish I cross the finished part out with a bright coloured feltpen. Alright adimittedly it has become far far longer in a very short time – but better too see and get the feeling of getting somewhere than get annoyed because I have remnants of an idea in my mind that I didn’t write down – but it the remnants will haunt me anyway.

So for today…I think I’ll settle for the bundle and find my way to finishing some other chores – I have some new systems for my kitchen – things to brighten up the room and make time there just a smidge easier…

image

And maybe tomorrow the candyfloss bundle will morph into a vintage style cardigan…

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

3 thoughts on “The Candyfloss Cardigan Bundle

  1. Pingback: Life vs. My World | My Strings

  2. Boy, that favorite/icky part of a project?! 🙂 that’s big! Sometimes I knit sleeves both at the same time, even did one sweater without side seams. Up to arms, then back shaping to shoulders & neck, returning back down to the right & left fronts to finish. I have friends who knit cast-on ends in with the first few stitches, weaving in as they go. 🙂
    I love your pretty to-do list idea! I’m going to share it with my quilt group!!

    • Thanks :-). So good to know I’m alone in have icky parts. The most embarrassing thing concerning ‘Candy’ there – I ONLY just finished her a little more than a week ago. Just kept pushing her off…just need to round up and blog…I can actually finish…ikcy and all.

Leave a Reply

