My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Plaid Drive

2 Comments

I just discovered a small piece of left over plaid patterned fabric – simple in off-white, black and grey. Normally I NEVER go for anything synthetic – but the original intent for this fabric was a 19th century copy 5-gore skirt. Meaning I wanted and went for the swooshing sound – and nothing like highly flamable fabrics to have that nice sound. And I did get a very nice highwaisted skirt out of it.

And as so often before I just never got around to finding the perfect idea or pattern for the rest of the fabric. Until now.  Vogue pattern no. 8353

Very Simply Vogue

Nothing much to it – but still very sweet and summerlike. I think it’ll work for this fabric as it is loose under the arms allowing for the skin some air.

Three-piece dress

Also I’ll add some lightweight cotton to the waist area for the sake of my skin as well. I just can’t stand the smell of bad sweat and synthetic fibres…not good. But I can’t just throw the fabric out – and there are ways to work around the problematic areas.

Of my own

The bits and pieces left are still big enough that something can come out of them too – so I fished out one of my old homemade corset patterns. Plaid and with warious trim – should make a very nice corset. If there is enough fabric I even think I’ll make two – one suited for day wear and one … a bit more over the top with embellishments and fun…

I never really know with corsets – sometimes Istart out with one picture and one idea in myhead – but it will turn out comepletely different as it isn’t possible to see what will be good until I am a bit further in the process.

One half of the outer layer

Also – a bigger thing – thinking, researching and needing ideas for the next Grotesque Burlesque Party – Theme: Forbidden Acrobatics…

…dare I…do I…a spandex onepiece full body suit…with a corset…hmm…still not sure…Need ideas…

 

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

2 thoughts on “Plaid Drive

  1. very cool! My friend made a mod of this pattern with silk, and it turned out beautiful

    • Nice. Like most of my patterns I’ve had i for ages – just waiting for the right fabric to come along. Thanks. Now I’m even more exceited – good to know that it works 🙂

Leave a Reply

