My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Baking the day

Leave a comment

A good day went by filled up with tastes and smells of nice things.

First – sweaty morning yoga. Admitted – not smelling too nice going in – but once in you forget and loose yourself in Jivamukti – coming out smelling like a peach…(or something)…never mind – not the point here at all. Starting out my day with yoga – what could be better. Perfect way to wake up body and tune in the mind for a brand new day.

Which turned out to be very much needed today. Going on a trip this weekend I needed an air mattress. Which might seem like a simple and very easily accomplishable task. Which it really should have been – and would have been had it been and other time of year than this particular time…the day before the opening of Denmarks biggest festival – Roskilde Festival. And Abracadabra..alakazaam…no more air mattresses…

Took a while – but I finally got one…so much work for such a little thing…so I decided to work actively on the second smell of the day…I had some recipies I wanted to test…

Second – fresh baked homemade cookies with white chocolate and cranberries. A short hunt for cranberries – which for some reason are not alway easy to find …without strawberry-taske. What is with this world – why on earth would you add strawberry-taste to a perfectly able-tasting berrry…do not get it. If you want strawberry-taste – eat strawberries…

But I settled for the strawberry-tasting ones not being in the mood for more shops…Not that bad – just a little too sweet for my taste and for my purpose. They were supposed to add some tartness to the sweetness of the white chokolate.

Cookies in a box

But what-e… the cookies turned out great. I so love the combination og the super sweet white chokolate and the more tart cranberries.

Hunting for cranberries lead me to the next smell of the day…or planned smell for later.

Third – warm dough – sublte but nice. I like to knead dough – to really work it, to smooth it – make it nice an flyffy…clear. And working pizza dough – working good olive oil and air into it have er very homy smell. And you just know the more you work it – the better it gets…

Then cover in more oil…back in the bowl…cover and let rest until it has doubled it’s size…making time for the next smell of the day…

Fourth – lemon and poppyseed muffins with lemonsyrop. Lemons are great – and I’ve had some perfect eco ones lying there from last weekends elder flower syrup project just screaming to be used for something lovely.

Almost never too much

And what could be better – a simple muffin recipe – with added lemon zest and poppyseeds. Some call for the poppyseeds to soak in boiled water for an hour – but I’ve seen the need to do that – I usually add a little bit more milk or yoghurt to the mix for the seeds to soak up.

Also having looked at other peoples recipies for the same muff – I add more zest – nothing like the taste of lemon, and I mix the sugar half and half dark brown and non-refined sugar – I like how it caramelises with the heat from the oven. And with the smell of fresh baked muffins on to the next smell to fill up the apartment.

Finish product straight up – no nonsense

To just give them the extra lemon infusion I made a lemon syrup – and poured one tablespoon over each muffin fresh out from the oven. The syrup and zest plays well together – gives a deeper lemon taste. Very good.

Fifth – homemade pizza. Just a simple veggie kind. Tomato sauce…went for the lazy kind – a fresh tomato base with just salt, pepper and oregano sprinkled over it and not cooked together. Then some cheese, fresh onion, cherry tomatoes chopped in half and to finish it of – fresh mozzarella.  BUT…

…what do I find – I am OUT OF garlic – how is that possible. How could that happen. I am NEVER out of garlic. It is just one of those things you usually can always find i my kitchen.

Before

It is not that the pizza is no good without it. It is  – really good. Guess I’m just in a weird state of chok – something like this has never happend to me before. Fair if you are else where using other peoples kitchens – you can’t account for their sanity – but you should be able to manage your own…

But here it goes – a simple italian pizza…

Being served

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

Leave a Reply

