My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Promises vs. Fact

1 Comment

So far so good – and I was doing so good – on the verge of being proud of myself. But no sunshine without tons of rain to spice things up.

The plan was as follows: One in and one out – at least…better would be: Two out to one in…making up for and getting on top of projects backing up…

And I raelly was sticking to the plan…but then evil took over – something possesed me…my resolve dissolved faster than and SunLolly.

Yup – I had a go at my overly sweet and girly fabric again.

Evil girlyness

Don’t let the shyness and soft pastel blue fool you – once it gets you – it gets you good. And wins the battle in even faster than Russell Rees vs. Des Sowden.  It all began with me trying to se hhow far there was to go with one of my storage spaces – the bridal chest of 1841. I began…and found it really was possible…

The amazing…

See…all empty…

C’est fini

Or not – nope – I am not even close to being close to finished. And also the chest is not exactly my only fabric-hide away. This is where it went during my empty-out the darned thing frenzy…

Once there was a bed

But even though it is a huge ordeal to empty the chest and fill it again – it helps me ship the fabrics around – so when I open the cest it is not always the same inspirations that stare back at me. And this time – even though it is not that far back it just started yelling at me again.

The extreme behavior payed off. It started out with a plan to make another skirt. That got me thinking – I’ve made so many skirts and not that many tops. Admittingly I had my reservations about this fabric and it’s ability to morph into a suitable and nicelooking top. But…no risk no gain…or something.

Flower – hope for power

Next I’ve been missing a pair of simple and basic shorts. So I dug out a Vogue patterns featuring a set with jacket and long shorts. A little bit of adaption – and the shorts got shorter – the other length’ll just make me shorter anyway.

But still – more cloth…(be ware of offers that gives you 6 meters for a very low price…them seem to procreate whenever left alone. So following the girly-girl trail the last of the fabric was spent on a short pleated skirt – very school-girl like – just hoping I can find something to tone it down…Or I’ll just have to sell it of…

So more work ahead…and there is a promised project hanging over my head – a fitted corset pattern….I really just need to jump and finish it…it is not as if it is that hard…just…not exceiting right now…where most of my creative attention is divided between kimonos and the Copenhagen Gotesque Burlesque party in August.

Can’t wait…right now I’m debating with myself if I can overcome my fears and arrive in a spandex one-piece with just a corset to adorne the thing – but can I rock that…even though it would be perfect as the theme is ‘Palace of Forbidden Acrobatics’.

Uh – nasty flashes back to the days of show gymnastics…

Is this scary business me

Or is it just a no go…

Or go for the hooded kind and hide the awfull truth

Still undecided.

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

One thought on “Promises vs. Fact

  1. Pingback: Life vs. My World | My Strings

Leave a Reply

