My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life


Leave a comment

Life vs. My World

I really am an uneven match for competing with life and events taking place. somehow you would think this really could not be new to me or anyone for that mattter. But in spite of my 31 years of full on living I still at times have a hard time accepting that I am not always in control of what is going on with me or around me.

Not that I am an anal control freak…that much…well at least only when it comes to myself and the things I do – not with other people (saying this in the hope of it making it a bit more alright…)… No I just really like being on top of things – I am one of those people who makes endless lists and have an all time updated calendar. There is just something compelling about being able to cross things of a list – the feeling you get when physically seeing your achievements is important.

Lalalalalalala…experimenting with diversion of thought

But I do know there are things beyond my control and beyond my grasp – I can accept that fact – I can live with that fact…but when life crashes on my personal space of need and freedom – I reserve the right to protest…

My comuter crashed….oh, the horror!

NOT acceptable – AT ALL. How dare the darned thing break down on my – going into it’s own little happy circle of neverending start-up. I really do not do well with technical thingies not working. I forces me to realize that I am not as independent from those machines as I’d like to think I am. I have no problem going days without turning it on – not a problem…no addiction tic sets in. But when you know your access is not possible the frustration sets in.

And worse – there is NO room in my budget for a new pc at the moment – don’t know what to do…but for the time being I’ve borrowed and old pc from a friend. It really is so very sweet of him but wow sooo slow – you have time to make coffee while it goes through start up.

I could choose to look on the bright side – as I at the same time have had to set aside everything else in the sewing department. For a long time I’ve been pushing a few planned or sort of planned projects in front of me with the excuse of having enough time. Then suddenly not so much time – so not having to spend time in front of the pc might be a good thing.

First project – clothes for the next Grotesque Burlesque Copenhagen – also I had to wait and see if the theme of the night could be worked  in and also other wishes for the nights dress up.  As it happened the theme will not influence my clothes – Palace of Forbidden Acrobatics…all very well and opening up to fun and games…but I just can not picture myself in a full body leotard not even with a corset to match and make up the finish – an idea I’ve been flirting a bit with. I don’t think I can forget myself enough – and not being stick thin – I am not really sure I could pull it off without looking like a plump little bulging ball in spandex…so next idea…

Dusty pink with tiny roses – will make up the main feature of doll

The idea with the most votes ended up being all in on dollification. And here I still have to take not just some but a lot of deap breaths…I like simple, sophisticated, 50s style clothing. This is not even near simple and sophisticated. I’m trying to ease my mind a bit with the period I’ve chosen as inspiration – the 1880 porcelain dolls. But still I love feminine – but the girly and lacy and very cutesy…no not so much. But on the onther hand – why do it if not doing it well and all the way…

So in the near future I will be seen in dusty rose, with roses, all over frilly and lacy – not to mention puffy and curly. Oh my…don’t think too much…or you’ll scare yourself…

So…

Fabric choice for baby blanket

Second project – or more correctly projects. My sister is pregnant with her second child. And her being the perfect being that she is – she is having a girl this time (first one was a boy…just turned 3 last week).

Well, in my family we always make things for the new babies. My give here is a baby blanket – patchwork – hand sewn. It is not that big – so it doesn’t take that long to make. Meant for going home from the hospital – and fits perfectly for the baby carriage. I also make another blanket – more simple – two layered fleese hand stitched along the edges. Just at comfy kind. My nephew is still using his – perfect for those summer nights too warm for regular duvets.

And then the last fixed item – klokkestreng. Don’t know what it’s called in English – or if this even is something used outside Scandinavia. They are a bit like a baby book – with just that facts – date of birth, weight, length, time….

Embroidery – klokkestrenge…no English name comes til mind

After that it is just whatever I feel like making…not being made by others…like my mother making a ‘pakkekalender‘. I’ll be knitting for sure – I’ve been missing just sitting and relaxing with some knitting.

Baby multi colour knit

Teddy bears have been collected, a basket found and now I just have to fill it with usefull and fun stuff.

If I can find/take the time…there is also a trip to Berlin coming up…can’t wait…love that city.

Also I really need to finish a project soon – looking back most of my post for a while have been start up posts…hmm, well one project should be meetings it’s end very soon (just as soon as I pick it up – forgot it at my parents house last time I was there). But I know it’ll be finished soon – as I now have found the perfect buttons for the Candyfloss Bundle...