My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

Doll On

Leave a comment

Ha, finally finished something I posted I wanted to make. Which is really double great – as for once I’m going against my vow not to make things for myself with a hard deadline. But I guess promises are ment to be broken (hope not)…sometimes and at least I’m the only one taking the fall for this one – only me to hurt me (and that can be bad enough at times…internal cat-fight…wrauu).

NO – I will take back control of this out of control spin of ideas.

So back to the good part.

It started with this:

Rows of dusty rose with roses

More planning…figuring things out – more so than usually – as I am trying out a new corset pattern…so taking a bit longer than normal to fit the pieces together in my head.

Then on to the borring face of cutting…

All done – finally…at least with the cutting

Going through a bold fase and trying out the no helping pins while sewing…so far so good…even with the added “thrill” of using my mothers old sewing machine – old but dependable – very noisy and haven’t seen any help or service…but still – it can sew…

Tadaaa

Many hours spent on ebay searching for the right lace, trims and appliques. And in white – something I usually never god for. I’m just not so good with white…or more correctly good with keeping things white…

Butterflies in vienice lace – I just couldn’t say no

In the spirit of it being intended for Copenhagen Grotesque Burlesque – I try to go for all in and all the way. Luckily I have a good friend keeping me on my toes – I usually always go for simple and understated – perhaps an oxymoron saying corsets with understated – but I usually manage without trouble.

Close-up of the French lace with silk ribbon and the vienice lace covering the boning

So lace lace and then more lace – and what the h… – then some more lace just for the fun of it.

Ending up with this. The bands at each side adorned with the butteflies are sewn in between two of the panels – and are ment for being tied into a huge bowtie in the back – just for som added doll charm…

Final result

And here full view of the bow…and the back side of the corset. Before punching the holes…which is the final thing to do – but it just got too late to do – don’t think my neighbours would appreciate me hammering holes in at 10 in the evening.

Back bowtie

An now – all finished…a skirt and a shirt to go for the full attire..

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

Leave a Reply

