My Strings

The Figurative and Literal Strings of My Life

So so so much

Leave a comment

 

Timeless and endless

 

Wasn’t really on purpose but I guess it happens to even the best of us – time. It sometimes slips through our fingers like the fine grain sand in an hourglass.

It is not that time just slipped – most of it have been filled up with events, happenings and news like travel, yoga, new paths and revelations.

Some of the political street art you can find on the walls of Berlin. They have this great thing of picturing what a place looked like before the wall or just after the wall on buildings surrounding the place. Really incredible to view. 

We went to Berlin – and we had a great trip. More or less none of the plans we made from home came through – but so many other things happened in stead. We arrived on the warmest day Berlin had seen so far this year 33 degrees celcius. And as we hadn’t seen that in Denmark so far this year either – it was hot and we weren’t prepared. So some  hasty shopping had to happen – preferably 10 minutes before we arrived then when we acctually got around to it.

Tv Tower – fooling noone of course it was built for spying purposes…no mater what they say. You don’t bulit that high, that close to the Wall with only innocent intentions during the Cold War

We had rented an apartment from www.airbnb.com – and oh my, so so wonderful. It was this amazing little 1-bedroom apartment with a huge bathroom, a good kitchen (which turned out to be a great thing – as there was farmers market on the little plaze in front of our building – yeah – I loved that) in Mitte. I was clean (all enviranmentally conscious cleaning products – another love). The owner had arrangeded everything very hotel like with fluffed and set up pillows and a complimentary wine and shampoo :-). And the cost of this was no more and in many ways way cheaper than hostels – and here you actually have the comfort of nice and quite privacy. Love love love. I cannot recommend this enough…

Fun. Our bikes were a bit more on the usable side though

We arrived early (and the owner let us in several hour ahead of time – and let us keep our baggage extra time on our leave day – another 2 plusses) and we rented two bikes from her for 5 full days for under the price of 2 bikes for just one day in a rental shop. And I have to say – it is so much bette to se and take in Berlin from a bike. Don’t waist time under ground and traipsing from one train to another. So tedious. Bikes are better – though it takes guts – Berlin is not a bike friendly city – but they are working at improving this.

Plänterwald Fun Fair in Berlin

We ended up up with a trip with no were to be a no particular time – a luxury you seldom get – because even during holidays we tend to plan, plan, plan. Not this time – which ment we actually got home relaxed and refreshed. And though I really wanted to take that ‘yoga pose to every city I visit‘ – it just didn’t happen…this time. But as Berlin is more or less a yearly event for us…I’ll get the chance again.

One of the over grown rides at the Spreepark

We spent a day biking to Plänterwald one of the Berlin city regions – very green and lovely ‘longside the river. Also hidden in the Plänterwalf forest there is this old carnival from 1969 which has been closed since 2002 – just they havn’t taken any of the rides or sights down. We wanted to go in and have a look-see but unfortunately there were people in there working – and we couldn’t work out if they were offical worker or not. And it is sort of not really completely legal to go in…but…mostly due to danger if you attempt a ride…and we wouldn’t…but I would have loved to see that old ferris wheel up close. In stead I settled for hearing i creak and turn in the breeze. Wonderful.

How amazing is this. You can see if from far far away – and from various places around the city…

One other very notable event of the trip – my visit to the Berlin Jivamukti Yoga Centre. Such an amazing place. From the first step inside you feel the calm, the peace, the (and sorry for the kliche) love…This is one place that is now on my fixed todo list for Berlin. The feeling of complete calm and warmth I felt inside out walking out of there was no less than amazing.

Jivamukti Berlin

Fortunately, I had the chance to experience that feeling again yesterday at Copenhagen Yoga Festival where my yoga teachers Tanja and Louise had a Jivamukti event. They are the first Jivamukti licenced teachers in Denmark and made this a memorable day for over 150 yogis under the sun. They made exercise, spiritualty and fun reach new heights – don’t get me wrong it was hard, mind blowing and sweaty – but oh so good.

More than 150 yogis under the sun near the sea – wonderful

And thus filled up with positive energy and vitality I am venturing into new territory and am now actually trying to start a business. Something I’ve been thinking about for years – but I just never really went for it – guess I didn’t really believe in my own abilities. I still don’t but sometimes you just have to try, just have to give it a go – hoping that my inability to really believe in what I know and can do. Also hoping that this lack of believing that what I can do is good enough will help keep me on my toes and help me to keep strieving to become better in all my endevours not just this one.

I know the road will be long – but I’ll start small and work my way up…learn along the way…as it should be. I need to face my fear of change and future head on – only by doing this I can take charge and make things happen – good or bad. Times will turn no matter – and I hope if I can accept this – my hips will gradually accept me 🙂

But I am determined to do far better than Dino down here

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu
May all beings everywhere be happy and free, and may the thoughts, words, and actions of my own life contribute in some way to that happiness and to that freedom for all.
And with a sweet namaste I will bid you all godnight.

Author: My Strings

Hi I'm Jane. I live in a small apartment which is suffering under my many crafts and hobbies. I't sometimes seems as I live with them rather than the other way around. I grew up with all sorts of sewing crafts and I just haven't been able to choose just one or two. What I choose to do on any given day is pretty much up to mood and plans. So even though my figure and the clothes I love to wear fits together they are seldom in fashion and as I'm not very tall (making most dresses and skirts too long) - well, sewing my own clothes and then spicing it up with a bit of modern fashion seems to be the way to go for me. Even with the ongoing Mad Men fever there seem to be a lack of proper clothes for me to wear. Other than that I'm studying the European Union and English with a focus on communications and cooperation with the worlds developing countries; a lot of them being former European colonies. Dreary-sounding to most people but I love the mix of politics, culture, economics and social development. To take the egde of my studies I practice yoga - as much as possible - if I can get away with it I spend a least an hour (or...) on my practice. But it is much more than it is really good for me - I also really need as I'm training to run a marathon or two. And now - new hobby - learn how to manage a blog...which is not as easy a I thought - mainly al the technical stuff of arranging the site...hmm...hopefully it'll come to me...soon...

Leave a Reply

